Goa to host All India Badminton Ranking

Goa Badminton Association in collaboration with Margao Shuttlers Club and the Sports Authority of Goa will host an All India Sub-Junior Ranking Badminton Tournament for the 1st time in Goa from October 9 to 15, 2017. The championship will be held in singles and doubles categories for boys and girls in Under 13 and Under 15 age groups. The total number of entries for singles and doubles for this championship is around 2000 which has surpassed all previous figures, showcasing the growing popularity of badminton in India. In all, about 1,200 players from various parts of the Country have registered to participate in the event.

The qualifying matches will be held from October 9 to 11 at 17 Courts at various venues, namely Multupurpose Hall Fatorda, Quepem and Chicalim Sports stadiums, BITS Pilani Institute and Deepvihar Higher Secondary school. All Main Draw matches will be held at Multipurpose Hall, Fatorda, Margao and will commence from October 12th, with 384 players being a part of the main draw. Finals of the championship will be held on October 15 at Multipurpose Hall, Fatorda, Margao.

The excitement level will be high as most of the Country’s top ranked players will be participating in the championship. Some of the top ranked players who will be vying for top honours will be:

  • In Under 13 Boys - Ayush Shetty (ranked India No 3), Ankit Mondal (4), Jomi Singam (7), Lokesh Reddy K. (9)
  • In Under 13 Girls - Anya Chauhan (5), Nikkita Joseph (6), Gayathri Rani Jaiswal (7)
  • Under 15 Boys - Siddhanth Gupta (1), Varun Kapur (2), Sankar Muthusamy S. (3)
  • U15 Girls - Kriti Bharadwaj (2), Treesa Jolly (9) and  Tasnim Mir (11)

Goa will pin its hopes on Tanisha Crasto and Lydia Barretto who won medals at the Jaipur Open Sub Junior Nationals which concluded recently. There are 109 entries from Goa in all.

Mr. Manohar Parrikar, Hon’ ble Goa Chief Minister, launched the Association’s website www.goabadminton.in in the presence of Mr. V.M. Prabhudesai, Executive Director, the Sports Authority of Goa, and GBA Officials Narahar Thakur, Sandeep Heble, Vaman Fallary and Oscar Silveira. Daily updates of the championship will be published on the website, which also features all other useful information and is RTI compliant. Mr. Parrikar has expressed his Government's support for this championship and will grace the closing function.

The Badminton Association of India has deputed Mr. Sunder Shetty as its observer while about 50 technical officers from all over the country will officiate in the event. Milind alias Rahul Deshmukh will be the Chief championship Referee. The budget is expected to be about ₹20 lakh including prize money of ₹3 lakh to the winners.

Oscar Silveira will be the organising Secretary for this championship with Vaman Fallary, Narahar Thakur, Sandeep Heble, Laxmikant Kenaudekar, Cancio Mascarenhas, Leonel Fernandes, Ayoob C.K and Seby Ferrao being some of the other members in the organising committee. Vinayak Kamat, Roy Ataide and Pradosh Silimkhan will head the technical committee.